Press Releases

Autosport Awards 2017 – British Club Driver: Enaam Ahmed

Autosport Awards

BRDC British Formula 3 champion Enaam Ahmed has won the British Club Driver of the year at the 2017 Autosport Awards after a dominant campaign in Britain’s premier single-seater series.

Teenager Ahmed, who finished fifth in the revamped series in 2016, switched to Carlin for the ’17 season and romped to 13 victories from 24 races, a feat only once previously beaten – by Jan Magnussen in 1994 – in a category bearing the British F3 moniker.

Ahmed beat his eventual closest challenger, Carlin team-mate James Pull, by 164 points.

He also contested the Toyota Racing Series in New Zealand at the start of the year and finished sixth with one victory to his name.

Commentator Martin Brundle and Red Bull Formula 1 team principal Christian Horner presented the award.

“I just want to say thank you to everyone at Carlin,” said Ahmed. “I’m really happy with the whole season. Big thanks to them.”

Ahmed beat fellow British F3 driver Ben Hingeley and British Formula 4 champion Jamie Caroline to the award.

Mike Bushell – who claimed his second Clio Cup title in 2017 – Porsche Carrera Cup champion Charlie Eastwood and Ginetta Junior champion Tom Gamble were also nominated.

More in Press Releases