McLaren Autosport BRDC Award 2017 Finalists Revealed

The four drivers who will fight for the 2017 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award have been selected.

BRDC Formula 3 champion Enaam Ahmed, Formula Renault race winners Max Fewtrell and Dan Ticktum, and Euroformula Open champion Harrison Scott are the finalists.

Only Scott has been a finalist before.

McLaren will conduct the fitness and simulator elements of the competition, prior to a two-day test on Silverstone’s Grand Prix circuit.

The winner, who will be announced at the Autosport Awards on December 3, will be offered a McLaren simulator role for 2018, and receive a test in a Formula 1 car, full British Racing Drivers’ Club membership and an Arai crash helmet.

Ex-F1 driver Derek Warwick chairs the judging panel, which also includes two-time British Touring Car champion Jason Plato, experienced commentator Ian Titchmarsh, and Autosport’s Kevin Turner and Scott Mitchell.

Previous Award winners include 2009 F1 world champion Jenson Button, 13-time grand prix winner David Coulthard, three-time Indy 500 victor Dario Franchitti and 2014 World Endurance champion Anthony Davidson.

Last year’s winner was current European F3 championship leader Lando Norris.

Age: 17
2017: BRDC F3 champion with Carlin

What he’s done:
After stepping into cars in 2015 in the MSA Formula (now British F4), Ahmed graduated to the BRDC F3 Championship with Douglas Motorsport the following season.

He was a race winner and then joined Carlin for the Autumn Trophy, which he won.

He stayed with Carlin for the main BRDC F3 campaign this year and dominated, taking 13 wins from 24 races.

What he says:
“The Award is something I had in my mind all season. I first went to the Autosport Awards when I was a nine-year-old karter with Martin Hines and the Award is something I’ve wanted to be involved in my entire life.

“I’m really looking forward to getting into the DTM car, which will probably be the most different to what I am used to and I think is a bit special.”

Source: https://www.autosport.com/national/news/132198/mclaren-autosport-brdc-award-finalists-revealed

More in Uncategorised