Press Releases

Ahmed and Carlin Scoop Pole Position Awards

Enaam Ahmed not only secured the 2017 BRDC British F3 Championship crown, but also claimed the Jack Cavill Pole Position Cup Award for the driver with most pole positions throughout the season, while also securing the David Poole-Warren Award for his Carlin team.

Ahmed scored a total of eight poles throughout the season, with three of those coming in qualifying and the remaining five by virtue of setting fastest race lap across the weekend. Remarkably, Ahmed’s first qualifying pole came at the fifth weekend of the eight round season at Spa Francorchamps, but after that he proved almost unbeatable on one lap pace, and secured qualifying poles for the next two events at Brands Hatch GP and Snetterton.

His race three poles came at the first weekend at Oulton Park, in May’s Snetterton event, and then matching his qualifying poles at Spa, Brands Hatch GP and Snetterton. His biggest gap to second place on the grid was 0.553s for his race three pole position at Oulton Park.

Ahmed’s eight poles netted him £150 for each and combined with the £1,000 end of year prize for most poles, has earned a total of £2,200 across the year.

The next top earner was his team mate Cameron Das, who scored two qualifying poles and two race three poles, taking home £600 across the year, with Lanan Racing’s Toby Sowery claiming £300 for his two poles at Silverstone. James Pull and Ben Hingeley both earned £150 each.

As the team with the most poles, Carlin were also the recipients of £1,000, which award founder John Cavill suggests is used for a team celebration!

Everyone at BRDC British F3 thanks John Cavill for his continued support for the championship.

Pole Position statistics:

Qualifying poles (£150 prize and a trophy for each):

3 – Enaam Ahmed (Spa Francorchamps, Brands Hatch GP, Snetterton 300)
2 – Cameron Das (Oulton Park, Rockingham)
1 – James Pull (Snetterton 300)
1 – Toby Sowery (Silverstone)
1 – Ben Hingeley (Donington Park)

Race three poles (secured by race fastest laps – £150 prize and a trophy for each):

5 – Enaam Ahmed (Oulton Park, Snetterton 300, Spa Francorchamps, Brands Hatch, Snetterton 300)
2 – Cameron Das (Rockingham, Donington Park)
1 – Toby Sowery (Silverstone)

Race two poles (trophy for each):

1 – Omar Ismail (Oulton Park)
1 – Jamie Chadwick (Rockingham)
1 – Jordan Cane (Snetterton 300)
1 – Manuel Maldonado (Silverstone)
1 – James Pull (Spa Francorchamps)
1 – Krishnaraaj Mahadik (Brands Hatch GP)
1 – Guilherme Samaia (Snetterton 300)
1 – Nicolai Kjaergaard (Donington Park)


More in Press Releases