Press Releases

Enaam Ahmed Secures Formula Three Victory at Snetterton

Enaam Ahmed repeated his early season BRDC Formula Three victory double at Snetterton at the weekend to be crowned champion in the most emphatic fashion.

“It’s been a pretty emotional year,” claimed the new champion after clinching his second race win of the weekend to ensure he can’t be beaten in the final round.

Ahmed started the weekend off in style by claiming pole position and then went on to win the opening race by holding off a determined challenge from Toby Sowery.

Fifth place resulted from the reversed grid second race while another pole start resulted in second win of the weekend, fending off Sowery once more to seal the series crown.

Oliver Barker was a triple Radical Challenge winner while Thetford’s Jack Lang, the series leader coming to his home track, fought a rear guard action to keep his title hopes alive.

A difficult qualifying saw Lang start race one from ninth before quickly carving his way to fourth place only to fade late race, with a mechanical issue, back to his starting position. In race two he surged from 15th to finish sixth and in the final he started and finished fourth.

Once Darren Goes had slipped by Simon Clark he was always in control of the MSVT Trackday race. Meanwhile Loddon’s Kevin Sterling and co-driver Jonathan Howes were narrowly defeated in Class C as Attleborough’s Ray Honeybone finished fourth Class B and David Slater retired from his home event.

Jeremy Timms was never threatened in either of his Monoposto races while Richard Gittings, second in race one, lost another second place on the final lap of race two when Andrew Gordon-Colebrooke unseated him.

In the second Monoposto series Ben Cater took advantage of a fading Neil Harrison who raced to victory in event two after a mid-race incident had dropped him to seventh.

Michael Gibbings was unable to keep up his early pace in the Sports 2000 encounter which saw Paul Trayhurn and Tom Stoten push him back to third.

Kristian Jeffery led the entire opening Radical SR1 race, a feat matched in race two by James Pinkerton but it was a pair of second places for Jerome de Sadeleer which sealed him the series.

The Chris Wright/Lee Wiggins pairing narrowly defeated Steve Day/Stephen Collins, with a last lap burst, in the opening 7 Race Series while Anthony Barnes controlled race two.


More in Press Releases